SPHL Adds Teams for 2013-14

HUNTERSVILLE, NC – The Southern Professional Hockey League (SPHL) today announced its Board of Governors has unanimously approved the Bloomington Blaze and Peoria Rivermen to join the league for the 2013-2014 season.

The teams will be owned and operated by Illinois Pro Sports, LLC, whose members have extensive experience at all levels of professional hockey.

Both cities will hold official press conferences on Wednesday, May 22. The Peoria announcement will take place at 10:00 am at the Peoria Civic Center Great Hall, with the Bloomington presser to follow at the US Cellular Coliseum Bud Light Lounge at 2:00 pm.

“We are pleased that the SPHL Board of Governors unanimously approved both Peoria and Bloomington markets as new members of the SPHL,” said Illinois Pro Sports partner Bruce Saurs. “This is a new era for professional hockey in Central Illinois and we look forward to carrying on the rich tradition fans have come to enjoy over the years.”

“We are excited to welcome Bloomington and Peoria into the league,” added SPHL President Jim Combs. “The addition of two teams in the Midwest opens up a new range of opportunities for the SPHL.”

For more information on the new expansion teams and the Southern Professional Hockey League, check out our website at www.thesphl.com.
Posted by David Schmoll at 3:31 PM


5/18/2013 at 04:09 PM by

As a st. Louis blues fan, who lives in mississippi, I am thrilled to see the peoria rivermen, in the SPHL. I was very sad to see the blues discontinue the relationship with peoria. Glad for the loyal rivermen fans

Leave A Comment

Next Game

RiverKings vs. Rail Yard Dawgs
Fri, Feb. 23 - 7:00 PM
Fresh Friday
Presented by Valpak
Planters Bank Ice @ Landers Center



PEO Peoria 40 27 10 3 57
PEN Pensacola 37 24 9 4 52
MAC Macon 39 23 11 5 51
HUN Huntsville 41 23 13 5 51
KNX Knoxville 40 22 14 4 48
EVV Evansville 42 19 17 6 44
MRK RiverKings 39 19 18 2 40
RKE Roanoke 40 18 19 3 39
BIR Birmingham 41 15 21 5 35
FAY Fayetteville 41 10 25 6 26
Full Standings

Updated: February 18, 2017